President and Founder

Amanda Keller

amanda-kellerAmanda is the volunteer president and founder of C.A.R.E. Jeunesse. She spent 5 years in a variety of placements and aged out of care in the early 2000s. Amanda initially got involved in the alumni movement to address issues in psychiatric care that affected her personally and which she is determined to change. Along the way she realized that a small group of concerned individuals can change more than just psychiatric care in foster care, they can change the entire youth protection system, one small policy at a time. She believes the biggest limitation of care is love or the lack thereof and she hopes C.A.R.E. Jeunesse can serve as a source of friendship for youth from care for the foreseeable future. Amanda holds a bachelor’s degree in psychology, a masters in psychiatry, and works full-time with youth in difficulty. Amanda is also a mom, a gardener, a television addict, a shower singer and amateur comic.

 


 

Vice-President

Jennifer Dupuis

jen-dupuisJennifer is the Vice President and a founding board member. She is also an alumni from care in Quebec. Having seen the challenges that the system faced, as well as the opportunity to make a difference in the lives of others, Jennifer decided to pursue a career in Social Work. She obtained a DEC in Social Services at Dawson College and a Bachelors and Masters in Social Work at McGill University. Jennifer has worked as an Educator in group homes, a Social Worker and as a Youth Empowerment Liaison, a position designed to give a voice to youth in care, to allow them to have a say about the services that they receive and to effect change and to open the dialogue between youth and the adults providing services to them.

Hobbies: Writing-I hope to write my own book one day. Travelling, cooking
Favorite food: Poutine…and cheese
Favorite dessert: Strawberry shortcake
Favorite movie: The Pursuit of Happiness (one of many favorites)
Favorite pastimes: Spending time with my kids and my dog…a little pug named Pugsy
Favorite quote: “Let me believe in you until you can believe in yourself”

 


 

Board of Directors and Founding Member

Marly Péricles

marly-periclesMarly is a founding board member. She is a 25-year-old alumni of care who was placed in youth protection for 12 years. Marly aged out of youth protection but stayed living in her foster home. Marly currently works as a daycare educator and plans to start a CÉGEP program in special need care counselling. Marly loves helping special need children and wants to advocate for special needs children in care.

 

 

 


 

Board of Directors Secretary

Melanie Doucet

melanie-doucetMelanie is originally from New Brunswick, where she was placed in foster care between 1994 and 1998. After ‘aging out’ of the care system at age 18, she pursued post-secondary education and completed her Bachelor in Applied Arts in Criminal Justice at St Thomas University in 2004, and later on a Master in Interdisciplinary Studies at the University of New Brunswick (UNB) in 2008. Prior to pursuing her graduate work, Melanie worked as a Research Assistant at the Canadian Research Institute for Social Policy (CRISP) at UNB alongside Dr. Doug Willms, and most recently as a Project Officer for the Government of New Brunswick’s Integrated Service Delivery for Children and Youth project until July 2014. Melanie has also been involved in various youth engagement initiatives, such as the New Brunswick Youth in Care Network (NBYICN), and is very passionate about providing youth currently and formerly in care with opportunities to voice their opinions and influence government policies and approaches to service delivery. She was a panelist and presenter at the N.B. Youth in Care Hearings at the provincial legislature on November 29th, 2012 and has been working closely with the N.B. government on child protection services policy reform efforts via the network.

Melanie is a PhD candidate in social work at McGill University’s School of Social Work and is a member of the Centre for Research on Children and Families (CRCF). Stemming from her unique childhood experience as a child in care, her research focuses on youth ‘aging out’ of the child welfare system in Canada. She teaches a Master’s of Social Work Youth Justice course at the School of Social Work, is a student member of the Centre for Research on Children and Families and is a recipient of the 2014 Trudeau Foundation Doctoral Scholarship as well as the SSHRC Doctoral scholarship. Melanie is also the co-founder of a support group for youth in care alumni who are attending post-secondary institutions in the Montreal area, which has been in place since fall of 2015. She is involved as a Youth Leader in the SSHRC longitudinal Study of Youth Leaving Care in Quebec and France, under the leadership of Martin Goyette at l’École nationale d’administration publique (ÉNAP).

Melanie continuously aspires to become a university professor, a research consultant, an author, a motivational speaker, and a mentor to and advocate for disadvantaged children and youth, especially those involved in the child welfare system.

Fun facts: Melanie has a passion for tattoos and has several large and colourful pieces relaying stories about significant events in her life. She has also been Djing since 1999 under the moniker ‘Mizz Maxine’, and has played various music festivals and clubs in North America alongside internationally renowned DJs. Her musical style is grounded in electronic music genres, such as house, breakbeats, drum and bass, and ‘French Touch’.

 


 

Board of Directors Treasurer

Jessica Dupuis

jessica-dupuisHaving worked with adolescents for many years, Jessica knows having a supportive community can make all the difference to youth. With experience in non-profit management, communications and marketing, Jessica hopes that she can help increase awareness about C.A.R.E. Jeunesse in order to fulfill its mission and serve the Quebec community. Jessica is also a licensed pilot, loves chocolate and has two kids!

 

 

 


 

Honorary Board Member

Varda Mann-Feder

varda-mann-federMy name is Varda Mann-Feder and I am a Professor in the Department of Applied Human Sciences at Concordia University where I teach Youth Work and Counselling. I have worked for more than 30 years as a psychologist in the care system in Montreal and my research program documents the experiences of youth aging out of care in Quebec.

I was honoured to meet Amanda Keller 3 years ago, and have been an “ally” to the CARE JEUNESSE board since they began. It has been an inspiring process! I believe with all my heart that this organization will do amazing things for and on behalf of all youth in care in Quebec.

I love eating, talking and laughing…all of which we do at CARE JEUNESSE functions! Hope to see you there!!

Présidente et fondatrice

Amanda Keller 

amanda-kellerAmanda est présidente bénévole et fondatrice de C.A.R.E. Jeunesse. Elle a passé 5 ans dans une variété de placements et à quitter le système de protection de l’enfance au début des années 2000. Amanda s’est initialement impliqué dans le mouvement des ancien(ne)s placé pour résoudre des problématiques dans les soins psychiatriques qui lui touchaient personnellement dont elle est déterminée à changer. En cours du chemin, elle a réalisé qu’un groupe d’individus concernés peut apporter des changements à beaucoup plus que les soins psychiatriques en foyer d’accueil – il peut changer l’ensemble du système de protection de la jeunesse, une politique à la fois. croit que le manque d’amour est la plus grande limitation du système de protection de l’enfance et elle espère que C.A.R.E. Jeunesse peut servir comme source d’amitié pour les jeunes pris en soins. Amanda est titulaire d’un baccalauréat en psychologie, une maîtrise en psychiatrie, et travaille à temps plein avec les jeunes en difficulté. Elle est aussi une maman, une jardinière, une accro de la télévision, une chanteuse (dans la douche) et une comédienne amatrice.


Vice-Présidente

Jennifer Dupuis

jen-dupuisJennifer est le Vice Président– et elle est un membre fondateur. Elle est aussi une ancienne placée du Québec Après avoir vu de première main les défis auxquels les jeunes placés et le système font face, ainsi que les possibilités de faire une différence dans la vie des autres, Jennifer a décidé de poursuivre une carrière dans le travail social. Elle a obtenu un DEC en services sociaux au Collège Dawson et un baccalauréat et une maîtrise en travail social de l’université de McGill. Jennifer a travaillé comme éducatrice dans les foyers de groupe et comme travailleuse sociale. Elle a aussi travaillé comme personne liaison pour l’autonomisation de la jeunesse, une position destinée à donner une voix aux jeunes pris en charge, afin de leur permettre d’avoir un mot à dire sur les services qu’ils reçoivent, d’effectuer des changements et ouvrir le dialogue entre les jeunes et les adultes qui fournissent des services à leur disposition.

Loisirs: Écrire – j’espère d’écrire mon propre livre un jour. Voyager, cuisiner

Plat préféré: Poutine … et le fromage

Dessert préféré: Gâteau sablé aux fraises

Film préféré: The Pursuit of Happiness/La poursuite du bonheur (un des nombreux favoris)

Passe-temps préféré: Passer du temps avec mes enfants et mon chien … un petit chien carlin nommé Pugsy

Citation préférée: « Permettez-moi de croire en vous jusqu’à ce que vous pouvez croire en vous-même »


Membre du conseil d’administration et membre fondateur

Marly Péricles

marly-periclesMarly est un membre fondateur de C.A.R.E. Jeunesse. Elle est une ancienne placée âgée de 25 ans, qui a passé 12 ans dans le système de protection de l’enfance. Après avoir quitté le système à l’âge de 18 ans, elle est restée avec sa famille d’accueil. Marly travaille présentement comme éducatrice dans une garderie, et a un but de poursuivre ses études au CÉGEP en éducation spécialisée. Marly aime aider les enfants ayant des besoins spéciaux et veut être défenseure pour les enfants à besoins spéciaux qui sont placés dans le système.


Conseil d’administration, secrétaire

Melanie Doucet

melanie-doucetMelanie est originaire du Nouveau-Brunswick, où elle était en famille de 1994 à 1998. Après avoir quitté le système de la protection de l’enfance à l’âge de 18 ans, elle a poursuit son éducation au post-secondaire et a obtenu un baccalauréat en arts appliqués en justice pénale de l’Université St. Thomas en 2004, et par la suite une maîtrise en études interdisciplinaires de l’Université du Nouveau-Brunswick (UNB) en 2008. Avant de poursuivre ses études de cycles supérieurs, Melanie a travaillé comme assistante de recherche au Canadian Research Institute for Social Policy (CRISP) à l’UNB sous la direction de M. Doug Willms, Ph. D. Plus récemment, et ce, jusqu’en juillet 2014, elle a été agente de projet pour la prestation des services intégrés (PSI) destinés aux enfants et jeunes à risque du Nouveau-Brunswick. Elle a également été impliquée dans plusieurs initiatives d’engagement jeunesse au N.-B., dont le Réseau des jeunes pris en charge (RJPCNB). Elle consacre d’ailleurs beaucoup d’énergie à s’assurer que les jeunes pris en charge et les ancien(ne)s placé(e)s aient l’occasion de s’exprimer et d’influencer les politiques et approches gouvernementales concernant la prestation de services. Le 29 novembre 2012, Melanie a été panéliste et présentatrice lors des auditions du RJPCNB à l’assemblée législative provinciale. Elle travaille également en étroite collaboration avec le gouvernement du Nouveau-Brunswick sur un projet de réforme des politiques des services de protection de l’enfance par le biais du Réseau.

Melanie est candidate au doctorat en travail social à l’École de travail social de l’Université McGill et est membre du Centre de recherche sur l’enfance et la famille (CREF). Ses principaux intérêts de recherche sont issus de son expérience personnelle et unique dans le système de protection de l’enfance, et sa recherche de doctorat est axée sur l’analyse d’ancien(ne)s jeunes pris en charge en examinant la période de transition cruciale hors du système de protection de l’enfance.  Elle enseigne un cours de justice pénale ciblée sur les jeunes délinquants au niveau de la maîtrise à l’École de travail social, et est récipiendaire d’une bourse de doctorat du CRSH. En septembre 2015, elle a cofondé un groupe de soutien par les pairs destiné aux ancien(ne)s jeunes pris en charge qui poursuivent des études postsecondaires à Montréal (Association étudiante des anciens et anciennes jeunes placés de Montréal (AEAJPM). Melanie est également impliquée comme conseillère jeunesse dans le cadre d’une étude longitudinale financée par le CRSH sur le devenir des jeunes placés au Québec et en France (EDJep).

Elle aspire à devenir professeure à l’université, consultante en recherche, auteure, conférencière spécialiste de la motivation, et mentore et défenseur des intérêts des enfants et des jeunes défavorisés, surtout ceux qui bénéficient des services de la protection de la jeunesse.

Le saviez-vous? Melanie a une passion pour les tatouages et a plusieurs grandes pièces colorées relayant des événements importants dans sa vie. Elle est également une DJ reconnue depuis 1999 sous le nom de ‘Mizz Maxine’, et a joué divers festivals de musique et clubs en Amérique du Nord avec des DJs de renommée internationale. Son style musical se fonde sur les genres de musique électronique, comme le house, les breakbeats, drum and bass et le ‘French touch’.


Conseil d’administration, Trésorière

Jessica Dupuis

jessica-dupuisAyant travaillé avec des adolescents pendant de nombreuses années, Jessica sait qu’avoir une communauté de soutien peut faire toute la différence pour les jeunes. Avec son expérience en gestion organisationnelle à but non lucratif, en communications et en marketing, Jessica espère qu’elle peut aider à augmenter la sensibilisation à C.A.R.E. Jeunesse afin de répondre à sa mission et de servir la communauté québécoise. Jessica a aussi une licence de pilote, aime le chocolat et a deux enfants!

 

Membre d’honneur du conseil administratif

Varda Mann-Feder

varda-mann-federJe m’appelle Varda Mann-Feder et je suis professeure au Département des sciences humaines appliquées de l’Université Concordia où j’enseigne sur le travail avec les jeunes et le counselling. J’ai travaillé pendant plus de 30 ans à Montréal comme psychologue dans le système de soins et mon programme de recherche documente les expériences des ancien(ne)s placés du Québec.


J’ai eu l’honneur de rencontrer Amanda Keller il y a 3 ans, et je suis devenue une « alliée » au conseil administratif de CARE Jeunesse depuis le début. Ça a été un processus inspirant! Je crois sincèrement que cette organisation fera des choses extraordinaires pour et au nom de tous les jeunes pris en charge au Québec.

J’aime manger, parler et rire … toutes des choses que nous faisons aux fonctions de CARE Jeunesse! En espérons de vous y voir!!.